2022 Musical Theater Competition Report

Bharati Soman, Chair

The 2022 NVMTA Musical Theater Competition took place in-person at the Woman's Club in Arlington, VA on Sunday, November 6, 2022. Students prepared two song cuts (approximately 32 bars) and performed, unrehearsed, with a live accompanist.

Registration closed on 10/20/21.

There were 9 teachers and 63 students registered; 55 students participated on the day of the event.

Division	# of Students Registered	# of Students Who Participated
Comments Only	4	3
Division I (Ages 11-14)	22	21
Division II (Age 15)	14	12
Division III (Ages 16-18)	23	19

Participating Teachers: Regina Adams, Melissa Chavez, Lani Jacobson, Nicole Lamm, Peggy McNulty, Jennifer Randall, Nancy Smith, Tina Smothers, and Bharati Soman.

Cash prizes in the amounts of \$200, \$100, and \$50 were awarded to the first, second, and third place winners in each division. Judges also awarded seven Honorable Mentions in Division 1, four in Division 2, and seven in Division 3.

The two judges were Mary Gresock and Wesley Diener. They were each paid \$285. Judges rated the students using scale between 70 - 100 points. The pianists were Patrick O'Donnell (Divisions 1 & 2) and Ruth Locker (Comments Only & Division 3). Mr. O'Donnell was paid \$165; Ms. Locker was paid \$120.

<u>RESULTS</u>

Division 1

1st place: Cate Stine (student of Tina Smothers) 2nd place: Anna Salmon (student of Jennifer Randall) 3rd place: Zoe Carter (student of Tina Smothers)

Honorable Mentions:

Ainsley Zauel (student of Nancy MacArthur Smith) Lindsay Brody (student of Tina Smothers) Josiah Smothers (student of Tina Smothers) Aadya Deshmukh (student of Bharati Soman) Alexa Gilligan (student of Tina Smothers) Cooper Burnes (student of Jennifer Randall) Jack Abidin (student of Nancy MacArthur Smith)

Division 2

1st place: Addison Wivagg (student of Jennifer Randall) 2nd place: Mira Flood (student of Nancy MacArthur Smith) 3rd place: Ella Lee (student of Tina Smothers)

Honorable Mentions:

Glennes Ware (student of Melissa Chavez) Jocelyn Long (student of Tina Smothers) Kailyn Fetterman (student of Jennifer Randall) Christopher Shuffleton (student of Tina Smothers)

Division 3

1st place: Clare Shannon (*student of Lani Jacobson*) **2nd place:** Madison Whitbeck (*student of Tina Smothers*) **3rd place:** Matthew Murray (*student of Tina Smothers*)

Honorable Mentions:

Lily Mendoza (student of Tina Smothers) Lauren Antonik (student of Jennifer Randall) Adi Gupta (student of Peggy McNulty) Elana Kirwan (student of Regina Adams) Katie Wood (student of Nancy MacArthur Smith) Autumn Frank (student of Lani Jacobson) Maya Pattison (student of Nicole Lamm)