Composition Competition 2023 Report

Twelve NVMTA teachers entered a total of sixteen students in the competition, postmark deadline March 2, 2023. Students ranged in age from 7 to Adult. Composers were from the member studios of: Jeri Bennett, Renea Duelm, Eve Ginnett, René Johnson, David Kosutic, Livia Lai, Libby McConnell, Aphrodite Mitsopoulou, Kelly Nam, and Christy Tallamy, and non-members studios of Kathryn Brunner and Jun Hou.

Judges for this year's competition were Dr. David E.Chavez and Dr. Steve Guerra.

This year's JO LOMBARD AWARD recipients, for the most outstanding compositions, were as follows.

First place (\$150) is awarded Kai Wang, student of Jun Hou, for "Modéré," written for piano, violin, and cello.

Second place (\$75) is awarded to Jake Kim, student of Kelly Nam, for "Where It All Begins," written for orchestra.

Third place (\$50) is awarded to Peter Hinckley, student of René Johnson, for "Resolution," written for piano, bass, strings, acoustic guitar, and violin.

The Frances Hollans Scholarship (\$25) for the most creative entry by a student age 12 or younger:

Geneva Brunner, student of Kathryn Brunner, for "Pegasus," written for solo piano.

Honorable Mentions

Aviation Sonatina by Adrian Pezzimenti, student of Renea Duelm, written for solo piano The Wind-Up Doll by Genevieve Cheng, student of David Kosutic, written for solo piano Sonatini in G Major by Robert Clark, student of Christy Tallamy, written for solo piano Crooked Waltz by John Clark, student of Christy Tallamy, written for solo piano Reverie by Aaron Rodriguez, student of Jeri Bennett, written for solo piano

All entrants received certificates of participation and judges' comments. A Google Drive link with recordings of all the entries was sent to all participating teachers.

Respectfully submitted, Libby McConnell and Christy Tallamy NVMTA Composition Competition Chairs